Dr Fu presents at ULTRACEPT's First Sand Pit Session

ULTRACEPT Consortium Holds Its First Sand Pit Session

To aid and support the continued collaboration and knowledge exchange of the ULTRACEPT researchers, the consortium has commenced online bi-monthly ‘Sandpit Sessions’. The aim of these sessions is to provide researchers an opportunity to share their work in an informal forum where they can raise and discuss issues and challenges in order to gain support and feedback from the group.

As the session is facilitated by a researcher, it also provides them with a professional development opportunity to gain experience in facilitating an international group workshop.

The first session was held 27th November 2020 and hosted on MS Teams and facilitated by UoL researcher Dr Qinbing Fu. Dr Fu’s session focused on Past, Present, and Future Modelling on Bio-Inspired Collision Detection Visual Systems: Towards the Robust Perception. 23 attendees across the consortium participated.

Dr Fu presents at ULTRACEPT's First Sand Pit Session
Dr Fu presents at ULTRACEPT’s First Sand Pit Session

Sandpit Session 1: Past, Present, and Future Modelling on Bio-Inspired Collision Detection Visual Systems: Towards the Robust Perception

  • Date: Friday, 27th November 2020
  • Time: UK 10:00; China 18:00; Germany 11:00; Argentina 07:00; Malaysia 18:00; Japan 19:00.
  • Facilitator: Dr Qinbing Fu, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Lincoln
  • Location: MS Teams
Sandpit Schedule
UK Time Item Presenters
10:00-10:05 Arrival and welcome

 

Qinbing Fu
10:05-10:35 Past, Present, and Future Modelling on Bio-Inspired Collision Detection Visual Systems: Towards the Robust Perception

In this talk, I report on past, present, and future modelling on bio-inspired collision detection visual systems towards the robust perception in real-world challenging scenarios, from my perspective. The emphasis of this talk is firstly laid on a brief review on the development of such visual systems in the recent decades, specifically the typical insect-inspired collision sensing visual systems. After that, I will articulate the current challenges, to discuss with you promising solutions and worthwhile future effort on improving the modelling, consolidating the link between neuroscience and computational modelling. This session will encourage an open-minded way for facilitating quick idea-exchanging.

Qinbing Fu
10:35-11:00 Group discussion about the session topic

A group discussion where attendees can raise questions and discuss the topic of research that was presented.

Facilitated by Qinbing Fu
11.00-11.25 Open forum discussion

An opportunity for attendees to ask the group for advice regarding any challenges they are facing with their own research.

Facilitated by Qinbing Fu

 

11:25-11:30 Final comments & volunteer for a facilitator for the next session

We are planning our next sandpit session for January 2021.

Qinbing Fu

The session was scheduled for 1.5 hours and focused on the topic ‘Past, Present, and Future Modelling on Bio-Inspired Collision Detection Visual Systems: Towards the Robust Perception’.

Dr Fu presents at ULTRACEPT's First Sand Pit Session
Dr Fu presents at ULTRACEPT’s First Sand Pit Session

Following Dr Fu’s presentation was a group discussion on the subject matter then and open forum discussion which provided attendees an opportunity for Q&A.

These Sandpit sessions enable the consortium members to continue their collaborative working and knowledge exchange, particularly during the COVID-19 travel restrictions where all activities have needed to be virtual.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *