Universität Hamburg Hosts ULTRACEPT Sandpit Session - Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception

Universität Hamburg Hosts ULTRACEPT Sandpit Session – Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception

To aid and support the continued collaboration and knowledge exchange of the ULTRACEPT researchers, the consortium hosts online bi-monthly ‘Sandpit Sessions’. The aim of these sessions is to provide researchers an opportunity to share their work in an informal forum where they can raise and discuss issues and challenges in order to gain support and feedback from the group.

Researchers Hongzhuo Liang and Shuang Li from the Universität Hamburg (UHAM) recently hosted a Sandpit Session on the 5th March 2021. The theme of the session was Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception. 28 attendees across the consortium participated.

Universität Hamburg Hosts ULTRACEPT Sandpit Session - Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception
Hongzhuo Liang presenting at the ULTRACEPT Sandpit Session

Sandpit Session 2: Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception

  • Date: Friday, 5th March 2021
  • Time: UK 10:00; China 18:00; Germany 11:00; Argentina 07:00; Malaysia 18:00; Japan 19:00.
  • Facilitators: Hongzhuo Liang, PhD student, Universität Hamburg and Shuang Li, PhD student, Universität Hamburg
  • Location: MS Teams
Sandpit Schedule
UK Time Item Presenters
10:00-10:05 Arrival and welcome

 

Shuang Li
10:05-10:35 Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception

Autonomous robotic grasping is a challenging task, which includes many respects of research areas, e.g., perception, robotics, and psychology. In this talk, I will review the state of art in robotic grasping. Then, I will report the current working progress of my grasping work: from two-finger grasping to multi-finger grasping based on deep learning methods. This session will encourage an open-minded way for facilitating quick idea-exchanging.

Hongzhuo Liang
10:35-11:10 Group discussion about the session topic

How do bio-inspired methods help to design a better robotic grasping agent?

A group discussion where attendees can raise questions and discuss the topic of research and potential cooperation that was presented.

Facilitated by Shuang Li
11.10-11.25 Open forum discussion

An opportunity for attendees to ask the group for advice regarding any challenges they are facing with their own research.

Facilitated by Shuang Li

 

11:25-11:30 Final comments & volunteer for a facilitator for the next session

We are planning our next sandpit session for May 2021.

Shuang Li
Universität Hamburg Hosts ULTRACEPT Sandpit Session - Robotic Grasping based on Deep Learning: Towards the Robust Perception
Hongzhuo Liang and Shuang Li discussing their research ideas with the attendees

More detailed information about Hongshuo Liang’s research publications and code can be found on his website.

To find out more about the fascinating work being carried out by the team at UHAM, check out their YouTube channel TAMS UHAM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *