UBA Host Sandpit session: Optic flow analysis: From the circuit to the behaviour and back

To aid and support the continued collaboration and knowledge exchange of the ULTRACEPT researchers, the consortium hosts online bi-monthly ‘Sandpit Sessions’. The aim of these sessions is to provide researchers an opportunity to share their work in an informal forum where they can raise and discuss issues and challenges in order to gain support and feedback from the group.

The project group’s fourth sandpit session was hosted online by ULTRACEPT partner the University of Buenos Aires (UBA-CONICET) on the 23rd July 2021. The session was facilitated by PhD student Yair Barnatan, and Dr Julieta Sztarker, Independent researcher (chair). The theme of the session was ‘Optic flow analysis: From the circuit to the behaviour and back’.

Presentation by Dr Julieta Sztarker
Presentation by Dr Julieta Sztarker
Presentation by Dr Julieta Sztarker
Presentation by Dr Julieta Sztarker

Sandpit Session 4: Optic flow analysis: From the circuit to the behaviour and back

  • Date: Friday, 23rd July 2021
  • Time: UK 11:00; China 18:00; Germany 12:00; Argentina 07:00; Malaysia 18:00; Japan 19:00.
  • Facilitators: Yair Barnatan, PhD student, organisation UBA-CONICET, Julieta Sztarker, Independent researcher UBA-CONICET (chair)
  • Location: MS Teams
Sandpit Schedule
UK Time Item Presenter/s
11:00-11:05 Arrival and welcome Julieta Sztarker
11:05-11:35 Optic flow analysis: From the circuit to the behaviour and back

 

In this talk I will summarise what we know about the optomotor responses performed by flies and crabs in different conditions (monocular, binocular stimulation) and using different directions of stimulation. I will present the underlying neuronal circuit that has been proposed for flies based on a long line of electrophysiological recordings of directional neurons from the lobula plate and other cells and behavioural studies. I will present results on the locomotive optomotor responses in crabs that respond preferably to stimulation in a unique direction under monocular conditions but not in binocular ones and show what we know so far about the type of directional cells found in crabs.

Julieta Sztarker
11:35-12:00 Out of the oven: recent results using simultaneous recordings of locomotive and eye saccades in crabs

I will present our latest data measuring simultaneously the locomotive and eye saccades of crabs in response to panoramic stimulus moving in different directions and conditions (monocular, binocular). We found an apparent correlation between the variables obtained in some conditions of stimulation but not in others.

Yair Barnatan
12:00-12:25 Group discussion about the possibility of modelling the underlying circuit based on behavioural data. Julieta Sztarker
12:25-12:30 Final comments & volunteer for a facilitator for the next session

We are planning our next sandpit session in 2 months’ time (September).

Julieta Sztarker
Presentation by Yair Barnatan
Presentation by Yair Barnatan
Presentation by Yair Barnatan
Presentation by Yair Barnatan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *