Workshop 2

Reporting recent modelling and invertebrate visual neural biology developments, preliminary selection for candidate neural systems towards multimodalities and VLSI realisation, relevant to WP1, WP3 and WP4.

The ULTRACEPT Workshop Two was hosted by UoL and took place on the 27th July 2020.  Due to the travel restrictions caused by COVID-19, the workshop was held as an online event using MS Teams. The following day the group also held a training seminar.

  • Day 1: 28 July 2020 Workshop 2
  • Day 2: 29 July 2020 Training Seminar

The workshop provided an opportunity for a group discussion followed be a series of talks by ULTRACEPT researchers.

ULTRACEPT: Ultra-layered perception with brain-inspired information processing for vehicle collision avoidance

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions – Research and Innovation Staff Exchange (RISE)

This research has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Sklodowska-Curie grant agreement No 778062.

Date: Tuesday 28 July 2020

Time: UK 11:00; China 18:00; Germany 12:00; Buenos Aires 07:00

Location: MS Teams

Workshop Schedule
UK Time Item Presenters
11:00-11:10 Arrival and welcome Shigang Yue
11:10-12:10 Round table discussion All
12:10-12:30

Adaptive Inhibition Matters to Robust Collision Perception in Highly Variable Environments

  • University of Lincoln

10min presentation & 10min discussion

Qinbing Fu
12.35-12.55

Modelling Near Range Emergency Collision Sensitive Neural Network for UAV Application

  • University of Lincoln

10min presentation & 10min discussion

Jiannan Zhao
12:55-13:30 Break
13:30-13:50

Competition between ON and OFF Neural Pathways Enhancing Collision Selectivity

  • University of Lincoln

10min presentation & 10min discussion

Fang Lei
13:55-14:25

Unified Model Explaining Optimal Coordination of Insect Navigation 

  • University of Lincoln

20min presentation & 10min discussion

Xuelong Sun
14:30-14:50 Computational modelling of insect stereoscopic depth detectors

  • University of Newcastle

10min presentation & 10 min Q&A

James O’Keeffe
14:50-15:00 Final comments All

NB: 5 minute set-up time between presentations

 

Ultra-layered perception with brain-inspired information processing for vehicle collision avoidance